Ethiopia’s Regional Diplomacies: A Dominant Interpretation of the Horn of Africa

Photo: flickr, Canned Muffins
Photo: flickr, Canned Muffins

The Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia shares borders with the eastern African countries Djibouti, Eritrea, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan and Sudan.

A founding member of the UN, the African Union (AU), the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD), and the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), Ethiopia pursues its regional interests multilaterally through these organisations, albeit mainly through a dominant role in IGAD.

Read the occassional paper: A Regional Power in the Making: Ethiopian Diplomacy in the Horn of Africa

27 Oct 2014

File size: 65.45 KB

Research by
SAIIA Policy Briefing No 112, October 2014
Sub-Saharan Africa
SAIIA Programme
Foreign Policy
Horn of Africa
Scroll to Top