Social Accountability in Africa: Practitioners’ Experiences and Lessons


Edited by Victoria Ayer, Mario Claasen and Carmen Alpín-Lardíes (Idasa & ANSA-Africa, 2010), Social Accountability in Africa: Practitioners’ Experiences and Lessons is a collection of case studies from Africa on social accountability.

This collection attempts to build a consolidated body of knowledge on social accountability efforts across the continent. The case studies are diverse and present unique approaches to how social accountability strategies and interventions are implemented within different countries. SAIIA was commissioned to undertake the initial research, editing and management of this book.

The book is written by practitioners, for practitioners, providing first hand experience of designing and implementing social accountability initiatives and the challenges, methods and successes each one presents.

  • While most research focuses on the role of citizens and civil society organisations in promoting accountability, this book places a greater emphasis on joint state-civil society initiatives.
  • While social accountability initiatives are known mostly only in their own countries, and few African campaigns are documented, this book fills this gap by covering different approaches within a wide array of African countries.

To overcome language and cultural barriers that have prevented practitioners in the African sub-regions from learning from each other, this book will be translated into French and disseminated widely in Francophone Africa.

The Affiliated Network for Social Accountability in Africa (ANSA-Africa) supports the engagement of citizens and civil society in building more effective states through social accountability approaches.

ISBN: 978-1-920409-20-3

Download the full book here or order your copy from by contacting Idasa using the details below.

Available from Lobby Books at the Cape Town Democracy Centre
6 Spin St, Cape Town, South Africa 8001
Contact Shahieda at
phone: 021 467 7616
fax: 0866 333 171

28 Jul 2010